Talking about My Pixel Theory

Kevin has put up good examples of the difference between the technology used in digital cameras – the image sensor, the heart of today’s digital cameras.

One of Kevin’s fellow photographers left a link in a comment to Kevin’s entry to Pixel Count And Future Imaging Chips which is worth reading if you’re technically minded and want to follow up on the differences between CCD and CMOS image sensors.

Quote

My Pixel Theory

The first photo was taken with my Canon EOS 450D, 12.2 mega pixels on a CMOS sensor 22.2 x 14.8 mm.

The second was taken with my Canon PowerShot S5 IS, 8.0 mega pixels on a CCD sensor 6 x 4 mm.

Both photos were taken of the same roses without flash in my kitchen. The cameras both use the same DiGiC 111 Processor and automatically set 800 ISO speed.

  

My theory is : The more pixels per square mm the worse the photo at high ISO. The PhotoShot S5 IS takes superb photos at up to 400 ISO as shown in other parts of My Space. I am very happy with both cameras but each has its advantages and disadvantages. That’s why I have both cameras.

This entry was posted in About digital photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment